Meet Our Team – Lydia Archer

Name: Lydia Archer

Position title: International Resource Consultant

Favourite quote: “What if I fall? Oh, but my darling, what if you fly?” – Erin Hanson

Q1. What is your role at Sugarman and how long have you worked for us?

I am the International Resource Consultant for Sugarman International in the Sydney office and I have been working here for 6 months.

Q2. What is your favourite part of your role?

I mostly enjoy helping people and giving allied health professionals the chance to do what I did, live and work on the other side of the world. I also very much enjoy the creative marketing side of my job.

Q3. What is your favourite thing to do in London?

I very much like exploring London, especially the free museums such as the tate modern and the natural history museum, I also love socialising in a good old English pub!

Q4. What is your ideal holiday destination?

I absolutely loved Langkawi in Malaysia – definitely would recommend.

Q5. Where can we find you on the weekend?

Out brunching and socialising with friends, shopping or coastal walking.

Q6. What work related advice would you give to our International candidates relocating to the UK?

Definitely make use of agencies, I came to Australia with no help from agencies and it took me far longer to secure a job than I expected. Be organised and prepared with everything that is needed to live and work in the UK. Enjoy this once in a lifetime opportunity to the fullest!

Q7. What is the first thing you would recommend our candidates do when they get into the UK .

Find your bearings, make use of public transport and be a tourist for the day/week! Visit all of the famous sights and have a beer in a traditional English pub.  

Q8. Do you live in London or do you commute to work? If so how long is your commute and what are your tips for the travel time?

I firstly commuted to work from Hemel Hempstead in Hertfordshire which took around 1.5 hours door to door, I then moved to Shepherds Bush in London and my commute was around 40 minutes, I loved reading during this time.

Q9. Where is your favourite place to eat in either London or surrounds?

My favourite restaurant in the UK is a family run Italian restaurant in Kings Langley, around 25 minutes outside of London called Oscars! It is amazing. I also love Wahaca in London, a well priced Mexican restaurant, visit the one on beautiful Southbank London.

Q10. What are five things you love about the UK or five things you would miss if you left the UK?

  1. My Family and My Toy Poodle Timmy.
  2. Cheap Euro trips. Berlin has been my favourite so far
  3. Winter walks through the countryside followed by a hearty roast dinner.
  4. A traditional English Pub/ Good English beer garden.
  5. The seasons.

Share: